Madhya Pradesh Elections: BJP Expels 53 Rebel Candidates including 3 Ex-Ministers who did not withdraw nominations

BHOPAL: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Wednesday expelled 53 candidates in Madhya Pradesh, for six years for alleged anti-party activities. Those expelled include senior state leader Sartaj Singh, who joined the Congress after being denied a ticket.

Singh, who defected to the Congress after being denied ticket from the Seoni-Malwa constituency cried in public after his name did not figure in BJP’s list of candidates. Former ministers Ramkrishna Kusmaria and K L Agrawal, three former MLAs and a former mayor were among those axed by the party, which has faced more dissidence than the Congress over distribution of tickets for the assembly elections.

While former union minister Sartaj Singh will take on sitting BJP lawmaker and finance minister Jayant Malaiya from Damoh, Ramkrishna Kusmaria will contest from Patharia and KL Agrawal from Bamori. The Congress has also faced its share of dissidents. Facing rebels in 12 seats, the party expelled former MLA Xavier Meda on Wednesday.

This article was first published on

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *