Shri Hemanand Biswal, MP Loksabha Sundargarh, Orissa

Fifteenth Lok Sabha

Shri Hemanand Biswal: MP Loksabha

Constituency : Sundargarh (ST) (Orissa )
Party Name : Indian National Congress(INC)
Email Address :

Father’s Name Late Shri Basudev Biswal
Mother’s Name Late Smt. Trimani Biswal
Date of Birth 01 Dec 1939
Place of Birth Vill. Thakurpada, Distt. Jharsuguda (Orissa)
Marital Status Married
Spouse’s Name Smt. Urmila Biswal
No.of Daughters 5
Educational Qualifications Intermediate
Educated at Government College, Sundargarh
Profession Agriculturist
Permanent Address
Vill. Thakurpada, P.O. Bhalupatra,
Distt. Jharsuguda, Orissa-768220
Tels. (06645) 283126,09937350289 (M)
Fax. (06622) 274466
Present Address
7 K. Kamraj Lane,
New Delhi-110 011
Tels. (011) 23795362, 23016415, 9013180304 (M)
Fax.(011) 23016415
Positions Held
1967-71 Chairman, Kirmira Panchayat Samiti
1974-1977 and 1980-2004 Member, Orissa Legislative Assembly (6th terms)
1980-81 Member, Committee on Public Accounts
1982-83 Chairman, Committee on Public Undertakings
1984-85 Member, Amenities Committee
1985-1986 Minister of State, Health & Family Welfare
1987-88 Member, Committee on Petitions
1989-90 Leader of House, Orissa State Legislative Assembly
Member, Select Committee on the Orissa Prevention of Anti-Social, Communal and others Dangerous Activities Bill
Chief Minister, Orissa
1990-92 Member, House Committee on Linguistic Minorities
1991-92 Member, Library Committee
1992-93 Member, Subject Committee on Rural Development
1992-1995 Member, Amenities Committee
1995-98 Deputy Chief Minister (Minister in-Charge of Panchayati Raj, Housing and Public Grievances and Pension Administration)
1999-2000 Leader of House, Orissa state Legislative Assembly
Deputy Chief Minister, Orissa
Chief Minister, Orissa
2001-2004 Member, Committee on Previleges
2002-2004 Member, House Committee on Rehabilitation
2009 Elected to 15th Lok Sabha
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Coal
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation
Member, General Purposes Committee
6 Aug. 2009 Member, Committee on Public Undertakings
31 Aug. 2009 Chairman, Committee on Labour
1 May 2010 Member, Committee on Public Undertakings
Literary Artistic & Scientific Accomplishments
Associated with many literary and cultural organization of Orissa and Patron of organisation working for restoration of Tribal art and culture in Western Orissa; and Founder President, Dhauli College of Arts and Crafts, Bhubaneswar, Orissa
Social And Cultural Activities
Chief Patron, TYAGA, Burla, Sambalpur; organizer of Yuvak Sangha, Tribal Welfare Sangha, atheletics association, drama association and educational institutions; participated in plays as an actor during school and college career
Special Interests
Reading books, magazines and biography
Favourite Pastime and Recreation
Gardening, photography, travelling and games
Sports and Clubs
Football, javelin throw, badminton and volleyball
Other Information
President (i) Orissa Pradesh Congress Committee, 1998-1999; (ii) Orissa State Scheduled Caste and Scheduled Tribe Legislative Coordination Council, BBSR; (iii) Orissa Adivasi Mangala Samiti, Bhubaneswar; (iv) Dhauli College of Arts and Crafts, Bhubaneswar, Orissa; and (v) Dr. B.R. Ambedkar College of Technology, Dumduma, Bhubaneswar, Orissa; President Governing Body (i) S.M.P. College, Kirmira, Jharsuguda, Orissa; (ii) P.S. College, Laikera, Jharsuguda, Orissa; (iii) P.S. College, Kolabira, Jharsuguda, Orissa; (iv) P.S. College, Bhatlaida, Jharsuguda, Orissa; and (v) Arda College, Arda, Jharsuguda, Orissa;Vice President, Jharsuguda Land Development Bank from 1968-1974; Special Invitee (i) CWC, AICC, 2004; and (ii) House Committee on Sareikela and Kharsuan; Advisor, Rajiv Gandhi Panchayati Raj Sangathan, Orissa State Committee, Bhubaneswar; Founder Member, Governing Body of L.N. College, Jharsuguda, Orissa; and Member Indian Parliamentary Group, Orissa Chapter



Close Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>